MC239092 – Your users will soon be able to track and manage SharePoint list information over time with list versioning.
When this will happen
This feature rolls out mid-February 2021.
How this will affect your organization
After this feature rolls out, when a user creates a new list in SharePoint, that list will have versioning enabled by default. End users will be able to view and recover previous versions from the list item history.
By default, new lists will retain the 50 most recent major versions. Users can change how many versions are retained or disable versioning on any list they manage.
What you need to do to prepare
This change does not affect existing lists.
You might want to notify your users about this new capability and update your training and documentation as appropriate.